Tags

, , , , ,

Long time no see. Sorry about that. But a lot has happened. Rather than get into the nitty gritty bad stuff, let’s look at some good stuff:

1. I got a full time position writing and launching websites. I’m even going to be trained as a Project Manager…so big bonus points are going on my resume. In addition to working FT, I’ve also been doings some web development on the side.

2. I went to an Orthodox church for the first time this past weekend. I’ve been reading, researching, and pondering converting to Orthodoxy from Catholic for a while now. I greatly enjoyed the service and still have a lot to ponder.

3. My webcomic, Vatican Assassins, has been running strong since February, when I first launched. Despite it crashing last weekend, the whole experience and developing my own website has been quite fun. I also notice my art improving and being able to do more advanced things than I could before. Though there are still many things I need to work on.

So I’ve been thinking more and more about what I want out of life. And I’m not that Art History degree is what I want anymore. One reason is that I’d probably have devote myself full time to a Ph.D. But besides having no money, I find that I like working and being able to pay the bills. And I don’t think that’s something I have to be ashamed about. I’d like to get a Master’s in web development, as I’ve always wanted to learn it and it’d add a lot of enrichment to my career.

Though in a way, this is hard to accept. Because I was surrounded and very much immersed in academia for a long time, and when it seemed like I, a lowly and brash person, could become a part of that…well, it was a wonderful prospect. There are many times when I still dream of that life of being a professor of something scholarly or other…

But then many other things come back. I want to work. I want to draw comics. I want to move to New Jersey/New York. I want to learn paddleboarding.

I’ll always love Art History and Byzantines, but maybe I’m not cut out for grad school. I can’t give up all those other things. So I have a lot of thinking to do. But I’m sure I’ll figure it out.

